Skip to Content

Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the faculty source for college, district, and shared governance information.

Senators are elected by each division and officers are elected campus-wide for terms of two years. The responsibility of the senators is to be an information conduit between their divisions and the Senate and to act on behalf of the division faculty they represent.

In addition, AB1725 charges the Academic Senate with the responsibility for policy development and administrative affairs that pertain to academic and professional matters. The President of the Senate represents the views of faculty on the college's Executive Council.

Agendas and Minutes

Role of the Academic Senate

  1. Represent the faculty of Sacramento City College

  2. Make recommendations to the Administration of Sacramento City College and to the Los Rios Community College District Board of Trustees with respect to academic and professional matters including, but not limited to the following:

    1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
    2. Degree and certificate requirements
    3. Grading Policies
    4. Education Program Development
    5. Standards or Policies regarding student preparation and success
    6. District and College Governance Structures, as related to faculty roles
    7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
    8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
    9. Processes for program review
    10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development AND
    11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the Governing Board and the Academic Senate

    The above is commonly referred to as the “10 + 1”, or the “Holy 11”. The “10 + 1” comes from language in Title 5 that is a result of AB 1725 that was passed by the legislature in 1988. AB 1725 uncoupled community colleges from the K-12 system, and gave community colleges the status of institutions of higher education.

    Education Code: These laws are the result of legislation and can be modified only by subsequent legislation. California Legislative Information

    Title 5: These are policies and regulations of the Board of Governors that are interpretations and strategies for implementation of Education Code. In addition, the Board of Governors enacts “Standing Rules” that instructs the California Community College Chancellor’s Office (CCCCO) on how to carry out its functions. Title 5 is published as part of the California Code of Regulations. 

    In areas covered by the “10 + 1”, the District Governing Board, or its designees, is to “Rely primarily upon” the advice and judgment of the Academic Senate or reach “mutual agreement” with the Academic Senate by written resolution, regulation, or policy. From LRCCD Policy P3412.

    1. Work with the LRCFT for the benefit of faculty. The Academic Senate represents the faculty regarding Academic and Professional Matters. The LRCFT represents the faculty regarding working conditions. Often, Academic and Professional Matters overlap with working conditions. The Los Rios District committee, Senate Union Joint Issues Committee (SUJIC), addresses such issues as they arise.

    Academic Senate Members


    Rodda Hall North, RHN 258
    3835 Freeport Boulevard
    Sacramento, CA 95822


    Meets 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm the first four Tuesdays of each month.


    President: Lori Petite

    Vice President: Sandra Guzman

    Secretary: Kandace Knudson

    Past President: Troy Myers