Skip to Content

Department Chairs Council

The Department Chairs Council meets twice monthly to give chairs and coordinators the opportunity to discuss the issues that involve them.

The DCC seeks input and participation from all members of the campus community who wish to work with the chairs and coordinators in the spirit of open dialog, mutual cooperation, and shared governance.

As a collective body, the DCC is an essential faculty voice and presence in the college’s commitment to shared governance and shared leadership.

Agendas and Minutes

Department Chairs

Behavioral and Social Sciences Division

Last Updated 5/21/2024

Department Chairperson Coordinator
Administration of Justice
- Administration of Justice
- Legal Studies
Kelly Gould
- Law Pathway David Delaini
Anthropology Michael Grofe
Ethnic Studies Robert Unzueta
History, Women & Gender Studies Surangi Frazier
Political Science, Global Studies Paul Frank Riad Bahhur
Psychology Kathleen Carbary
Sociology Nicholas Miller

Business and Computer Information Science Division

Last Updated 4/24/2024

Department Chairperson Coordinator
Accounting, Business, Economics Frank Luera
Computer Information Science M. Little
Distance Education Kandace Knudson
Instructional Development Brian Pogue

Counseling Division

Last Updated 1/1/2024

Department Chairperson
Counseling Adan Hernandez-Chaidez
Human Career Development
Tracey Hodge

Education and Health Professions Division

Last Updated 4/18/2024

Department Chairperson Coordinator
Dental Assisting Tammie Lane Tammie Lane
Dental Hygiene Melissa Fellman Melissa Fellman
Early Childhood Education Amy Strimling
Nursing Mara Manuel
Nutrition and Food Science, Gerontology Jessica Coppola
Occupational Therapy Assistant Ada Boone Hoerl Ada Boone Hoerl
Physical Therapist Assistant David Doron David Doron

Humanities and Fine Arts Division

Last Updated 2/7/2023

Department Chairperson
Art Mark Boguski
Art History, Humanities Valerie Rohert
Communication Studies Kim Church
Deaf Culture and ASL Kevin Clark
Music Kathleen Poe
Philosophy Timothy Quandt
Theatre Arts & Film Luther Hanson
World Languages Mari Carmen Garcia

Kinesiology, Health and Athletics Division

Last Updated 8/28/2023

Department Chairperson
Kinesiology Andrew Jones

Language Arts and Library Division

Last Updated 8/28/2023

Department Chairperson Coordinator
English Carrie Marks  
ESL Brett Thomas
Journalism Randy Allen
Library, Library Services Antonio López
Writing Center Dr. Susan Griffin

Mathematics, Statistics and Engineering Division

Last Updated 8/28/2023

Department Chairperson Coordinator
Engineering Eric J. Wyles
Engineering Design Technology Ken Fitzpatrick
Learning, Tutoring & Academic Technology Liz Stevenson,
Loretta Richard
Math Lab Halsey Boyd,
Jonathan Segal
Mathematics and Statistics Matt Schutte  

Natural Sciences

Last Updated 5/10/2023

Department Chairperson
Astronomy, Geology, Physics Douglas Copely
Biological Sciences David Wyatt (Co-Chair),
Robbin Roffey (Co-Chair)
Chemistry Joel Hwang
Geography Craig Davis

Technology & Innovation Division

Last Updated 8/28/2023

Department Chairperson Coordinator
Aircraft Maintenance Technician Kevin Goehring
Aviation Phil Cypret
Cosmetology Sabrina Marquez
Design & Digital Media Patrick Crandley
Design Lab Chris Seddon
Fashion Lynne Giovannetti
Mechanical-Electrical Technology
- Electronics Technology
- Industrial Maintenance Mechanic Technician
- Mechanical-Electrical Technology
Richard Gentry
Modern Making / Makerspace   Thomas Cappelletti
Photography Randy Allen
Railroad Operations TBD


Council Chair: Richard Gentry,
Professor Mechanical-Electrical Technology
Phone: (916) 558-2250
Office Location: Lusk Center 11c